GAA Club Notes 03/10/16

Junior Hurling
Unfortunately our semifinal v Crookedwood scheduled for Sunday was called off at short notice on Saturday evening. A new date will be announced shortly.

U12 Paddy Monaghan Cup Champions
Our u12’s travelled to Archerstown on Sunday to take part in the annual Paddy Monaghan tournament. After defeating Turin in the opening game our boys showed great heart to come from 4 points down at half time against our hosts Brownstown to turn it around and secure 1 point win. We then reached the tournament final where we defeated Ringtown on a score line of 3-6 to 1-1.

Congrats and well done to all involved on a great finish to the season having also won the Gaffney Cup a couple of weeks ago.

Panel – Peter Kelleghan, Mark Farrelly, Kyle Flynn, Seb McPherson, James Murtagh, Tadgh Horan, Oisin Kelly, Aaron Murtagh, Steven Cassidy, Ben Monaghan,Karl McCormack, Enda Newman, Jack Forde, Sean Cassidy, Billy Kelleghan, Gavin Drumm, Diarmuid Martin, Conor Williams.

U16 Premier Semi-Final
St Ernan’s 0-14 Clonkill 0-10
St. Ernan’s made it through to the U16 County Final after a tough hours hurling against a big strong Clonkill side. After starting well and putting the first 2 points on the board St Ernan’s had to play second best for the middle period of the first half when Clonkill went ahead with 5 unanswered points. St Ernan’s rallied with some good score from Dean Carroll, Dean Ennis and Josh Coll to go in at half time up by the bare minimum 0-6 to 0-5. Ernan’s started the second half well and moved 4 points ahead in the middle of the second half. Clonkill brought it back to 2 points but with fine points from Josh Coll, Dean Ennis and Ciaran Fenlon and an impressive defensive showing from among others Shane Vaughan & Peter Fallon we held on for a 4 point win and a final date next Saturday against Raharney.

Team – Shane Brady, Liam Carolan, Brian Herward, Peter Fallon, Adam McCormack, Shane Vaughan, Ciaran Fenlon (0-1), Josh Coll (0-3), Jack Walsh, Dean Ennis (0-7), Danny Henry, Dean Carroll(0-2), James Connell, Cian Reilly (0-1), John Dobson Farrelly. Subs – Podge Kelleghan, Joshua Doherty, Ross Gaffney, Eoin Quinn, Thomas Griffin, Ciaran Vaughan

Congrats to all involved and best wishes for next Saturday and hoping for another big turnout of support on the day.